“Never underestimate the power of dreams and the influence of the human spirit. We are all the same in this notion: The potential for greatness lives within each of us.”                                                                                                               ~ Wilma Rudolph, 3 time Gold Medalist at the 1960 Rome Olympic Games

      There is nothing that gives me more hope in humanity than global gatherings of God-Given talent, decades of dedication and world-wide camaraderie like you’ve never seen before…what looOOong anticipated event do I speak of..? Think grand scale and soaring my friends… The 2014 Winter Olympics are upon us! And given my recent ObSession with figure skating and all things bronze, silver & gold, I thought it was about time for some Sochi-Size inspiration here on Tutus&Tea.

Before I began dancing, I was a *very serious gymnast from the competitive ages of seven to nine. Yea, I was heart set on climbing up the podium to accept my medals and owned perhaps one too many (matching) leo/scrunchies sets…What humbling years to reflect upon…Needless to say, I’ve never lost my appreciation for Olympic dedication and the über talented athletes that walk (jump/tumble/swim/skate) the plank to scrutinized levels of perfection.

Two summers ago I found myself driving through Athens, Greece with my best friend when our cabbie nonchalantly pointed out the Panathenaic Stadium ~ host to the first modern Olympic games in 1896!! The oldest stadium in the world, built entirely of white marble over one century ago… I could hardly believe my eyes would behold such glory in casual passing…just thinking of the worldly wonders it would inspire gives me chills…
Tutti del Monte Photography
Photo Credit: TDM Photography

…and here we are, 118 years later with elite standards of athletic prowess and soaring world records bound for Sochi. I don’t know about you, but I’m pretty pumped for the next month of contagious inspiration from the athletes that will represent our countries around the globe…Shall we raise a glass to the high hopefuls?

Here’s to the blood, sweat & tears, the countless hours of practice and patience of all athletes out there ~ While the majority of us might not make it to the most scrupulous sporting event in the world, there is Olympian capacity of hope & hard work in each one of us. Let’s take the energy of the New Year, go out, and find it!

Going for Gold ~ p.e.

“The most important thing in the Olympic Games is not winning, but taking part; the essential thing in life is not conquering but fighting well.”  – Pierre de Coubertin