Sundays evoke so many memories, sights and smells that they simply deserve a reflection of their own…When I think about a Sunday, I smell Columbus Avenue on New York City’s Upper West Side…fresh coffee and blueberry muffins…the anticipation of an entire day dedicated to resting. As an American I have been reintroduced to the idea of ‘rest’, which is so well embraced here in Europe. If you take a walk around the city here on a late Sunday morning, you will see cafes sprinkled with happy inhabitants, sipping a latte and slowly savoring their way through a brunch platter…Sitting. Talking. Reflecting. In The Moment. Simply riding the ebb and flow of a long week accomplished, relishing the reward of this sacred day off.

This Sunday I enjoyed sleeping in, experimenting with my new waffle maker (flea market find) and sipping an endless cup of hot coffee…I tried out a recipe for gâteau de chocolat that my sister had sent me, which if I don’t say so myself, came out rather deliciously…and sat down to answer some emails with an entire pot of Vanilla Tea and an afternoon slice. This is what resting is all about. ‘Joie de Vivre‘ as the great Julia Child liked to say…delighting in the idea of doing nothing and enjoying it.

…a second ‘slice of heaven’ beckoning ever so alluringly from the platter in the kitchen…

Alors, le jour est fini et je suis heureux et reposé…

~P.E.