Sometimes on Sunday I like to sleep in, and then wake up and bake to my heart’s content. And by ‘sometimes’, I mean all the time…obviously.

This particular day of rest I was inspired by the gracefully wilting pink roses that I bought earlier this week for a mere 10 danish kroner. In passing I noticed a couple of the petals had fallen tenderly from their stems and adorned my window sill with an effortless beauty. I took a second look at the fragrant flowers that have brought me such simple happiness this past week and decided to give them one more chance before I too could let them go…

It all began with a bowl of raspberries, set aside to defrost and prepare themselves for a big day of baking & blogging.

Next up, I was accompanied by a shuffled playlist with a mind of its own, and my awoken roomies to begin step two: Combining the wet & dry ingredients that my recipe called for: Ginger Snaps and flour along with the various staples (see recipe post for more details) et voila! The perfect round of Dough mixed with the lightest touch to form the most perfect consistency, not too dry, not too moist, mais non…just right.

After divvying up the proper portions into their respective ‘scone scoop’, it was 15 minutes of clean-up and absolute anticipation as the smell of brown butter and berries filled our tiny French Country Kitchen…

After the approval ‘taste testing’ compliments of my trés adorable roomies, it was time to capture with creativity and savor the satisfaction of priceless flea market finds paired with beautifully baked treats, leaving a flavor and fragrance that keeps on giving…

Another Sunday to Savor…

Enfin.

~p.e.