There is a term in Rowing known as “Power Twenty” that my fellow ballerinas and I like to borrow during times of desperate exhaustion, often near the end of a show or particularly lengthy rehearsal (i.e. Fourth entrance Swans, Act II of Swan Lake) … The command refers to ‘taking 20 strokes at more than full pressure’ to ensure a steady win or significant advance during crew regattas and practices, but for us it simply means giving all the energy we have left to dance around on our tippy toes, seeming to be effortless and pain free…

I decided that I should concoct a ‘Power Twenty Snack’ to enjoy during our short intermissions or five minute breaks when words don’t seem like enough…which is how I came about these multi-berry, high energy ‘Muesli Muffins’, a taste of strength and satisfaction with each and every bite. The recipe was initially one I’d found in a Whole Living Magazine, but I made minor adjustments to create an optimum combo of powerful, tasty ingredients…plus I couldn’t find the Danish translation for Wheat Germ, so in this case, ground flaxseed did the trick!