There’s a time in Autumn when an International Food Market likes to come to Copenhagen. It sets up, conveniently enough, in a popular ‘square’ located just in front of our theater, known as Kongens Nytorv. I decided to delight in the gentle drizzle of rain that graced our skies yesterday after work to taste, try and buy the flavors of our European Neighbors….France, Holland, and Belgium among others brought along their candy, cheeses, confitures and other native delicacies to spread the joy to foodies such as myself.

Amongst fragrant wheels of Prima Donna Cheese, and dried meats cured to perfection, I found this lovely barrel of Olives that was begging to be captured. I’m not even a fan of Olives in fact, but their plump oval shape, and warm shades of green caught my creative eye…

I passed by steaming skillets of “Medieval Pasta & Pierogis”, where I paused to take a picture of the berea’d baker below, keeping a watchful eye on his 3-doored Medieval Oven.

As I walked home with a bag full of Swedish Cheese, French Fig Jam and a Dutch Pastry, I savored the sunset and scattering rain clouds that covered the skies above Nyhavn, the taste of freshly baked Foccacia from Belgian’s Oven lingering on…

I couldn’t think of a better way to end the day than feeling cultured and complete. ~p.e.