After hesitantly storing my summer clothes and restocking my shelves with long-sleeved shirts and knitted goodies, I have decided to embrace the cold weather upon us with an anticipation of fall flavors and cozy nights in. I have since discovered the importance of starting such brisk days with the Dane’s fool proof cold weather bowl of “Havregryn med æblekompot”. No need to try and pronounce it, just know that roughly translated, this breakfast is nothing less than a hearty bowl of warm oatmeal, christened with homemade apple sauce spread generously over top, a sprinkle of cinnamon, and a gentle drizzle of syrup. Paired with my morning latte, I have found there is no better way to greet those chilly dawns of a Scandinavian October.

Now I do need to point out the importance of the ingredients for this dish. Despite the convenience and efficiency of ‘Instant Oatmeal’ and a big ol’ jar of Mott’s Apple Sauce (you fellow American’s know what I’m talking about…), I promise that you will never discover the same results that slow cooked oats, and homemade apple compote will provide. I will let my pictures do the talking and you can let me know what you think…

You will be awe-inspired to cook homemade apple compote after you’ve bought a beautiful batch of farmstand apples, and dream of the cinnamatic aroma that will soon fill your home…

You can almost smell it can’t you? I thought I would give you a glimpse so that you’d keep on reading….

Perhaps the most rewarding part of making your apple sauce instead of buying it, is the satisfaction you get when your perfectly sweet batch fits just so into a recycle jam jar that’s been anxiously awaiting its second chance to serve…

Alas, you may now sit down to your new favorite fall breakfast. Simple. Scandinavian. Sweet. Satisfying.

For recipes, Please Visit my Recipe Pages! Bon Appetite! ~p.e.