I love the idea of celebratory surprises to spice up the middle of your week. Why not enjoy a scrumptious breakfast with friends just because it is a Wednesday? If you haven’t mixed up your routine in a while, I suggest you start with a fresh batch of ‘American Pancakes’. Do not be fooled, however, as our dear European friends have a slightly more humble idea of what we consider a pancake. Nonetheless, it is just as delicious and equally as satisfying…

I have a lovely weakness for all things vintage, second-hand and filled with stories to share…A copper tea kettle with a weathered handle or an antique spice jar that is my new favorite countertop spectacle. At a recent flea market I came across this lovely pasta jar, and simply could not resist giving it a new home in my cozy kitchen. It sits next to my petite jar of spices and has already begun to tell new stories…

Despite the plethora of ‘sweet’ treats on tutusandtea I feel obliged to recognize my appreciation for all things savory as well… A toasted slice of homemade bread for instance, pairs beautifully with thin slices of goat cheese, a sprinkle of herbs de provence and some torn prosciutto. The ultimate compliment for a toasty soup, or simply to quench your savory tooth :)

Of course all good things end on a simply sweet note, so I will share with you loyal readers my latest cakey confection: Orange Walnut Spice Cake, presented ever so humbly on the antique hazel cake platter that Mommy treated me to on her last visit.

Whether sweet, savory, brand new, borrowed, or delightfully dated, presentation is paramount and taste is treasured …Bon appetite! ~p.e.