One of my favorite childhood memories is of my dad coming into my room on a Sunday morning, well after the sun had risen, and gently whispering in my ear, “You don’t have to get up right now…. You can keep sleeping for as long as you would like…” and then he would tuck the sheets in all around me and wrap me up like a Caterpillar, leaving me to carry on my blissful slumber. Something about the subtle reminder that I could stay in bed was so soothing and rewarding, more so than if I woke up on my own and told myself so…

Well this very Sunday I arose with a smile as I remembered what day it was. A day off. A day of relaxing, eating, baking, blogging and enjoying the idea that I could go right back to sleep if I wanted to. I didn’t end up going back to sleep, but I did crawl right back into bed to eat my breakfast and to decide what lucky recipe I would soon be whipping up in my jammies…

When I decided on a few winners, I opened up my favorite, double-paned windows to let in some fresh air, and was left utterly speechless, peaking through the glass to our lovely brick wall that of late was decorated by a plethora of fall leaves, but was now verging on barren. A true turn of the Season was taking place this Sunday.

I could sense it. I could smell it. And So…I would celebrate it with a batch of Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Shortbread for a High Tea my roomies and I were planning for later in the day.

If I don’t say so myself, they were no less than ‘fantastisk‘.

Stay tuned for recipes! ~p.e.