Food for thought: When it comes to sweet things, I hardly need to be tempted. Surprise ;) So of course when the holidays are upon us you can only imagine my excitement and anticipation for traditional holiday desserts…Cookies, cakes and heart warming seasonal beverages in my favorite ceramic mug. This past weekend my dear Danish Family hosted a ‘Thanksgiving Dinner’ right here in Copenhagen, and I can only tell you how well our conventional American dishes of ‘Thanks’ were translated by the Scandinavian palate. Of course I have to start with the Dessert Table, to which I added – if I don’t say so myself – a rather delicious Pumpkin Pie (no canned Pumpkin Puree here my friends…). Meanwhile, last night was my premiere as the Fairy of Temperament in Christopher Wheeldon’s Sleeping Beauty, so I thought I would sprinkle a few photos of that amongst my harmonious display of desserts…Enjoy!

Made with Love & Care…and lots…and lots of butter. For Recipe, see here!

Photo Credit (for above): David Amzallag

The Classic “New York Cheese Cake” made by my very talented ‘Danish Mother’. Needless to say, I had two pieces.

Photo Credit: David Amzallag

Citron Fromage made by my roommate’s father. Despite what you might think, this is not a French dessert, nor is there any ‘fromage‘ involved… It is in fact, traditionally Danish, and tastes, in my opinion of a crustless Key Lime Pie. Absolument délicieux!

Photo Credit: David Amzallag

What would life be without tempting, traditional desserts and a little temperament? Here’s a thought to leave you with. Read, linger, and let it last. ~p.e.

“A happy heart makes the face cheerful…the cheerful heart has a continual feast.”

– Proverbs 15: 13, 15