Living away from home involves creative ways of communicating and expressing love, appreciation, and gratitude for my family & friends…Skype dates, iChats and ‘cyber flowers’ often await me when I come home from a performance and leave me both humbled and happy. Well this week, my Momma has been here, tirelessly watching classes, rehearsals & costume fittings, and enjoying one performance of Sleeping Beauty after another… This time, I was greeted with a beautiful bouquet of classic, Real, antique pink Roses, and if I don’t say so myself, they could not have been more honorably accepted…

With 11 more performances left, we have begun rehearsing for our next program that will carry us into January, John Neumeier’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream…From far off Fairytales to timeless Shakespearean comedies, the Ballet always has something special to behold…Today I had a costume fitting for a traditional Bournonville Ballet called A Folk Tale, which premieres in March of 2011 with twists & tweaks by Royal Danish Ballet’s Artistic Director, Nikolaj Hubbe. My mom enjoyed sitting in as the company seamstresses and costume designer, Mia Stensgaard worked their magic to prepare for this future production…

Photo Credits: Cheryl Elsbree, http://www.sapidspaces.com

Another fulfilling day at the Royal Theater.

Here’s to family, fairytales and folklore…