This Christmas Santa Clause came early and indulged me in my very first, top o’ the line ‘Staub Cookware Pot’. To say I was excited to receive this gift would be an understatement, you see…’Staub Pots’ are the Piéce de Résistance of any serious chef’s kitchen, and my beautiful, shiny blue, slow cooking pot has now claimed its rightful burner atop my humbled stove. I just happened to be listening to ‘Suzy Snowflake’, a precious Christmas Carol, while I opened my gift, and decided to christen her, ‘Suzy Staub’. And so the seasoning began…

After browsing through several recipes, I fell upon a traditional Danish Christmas meal that I deemed well deserving of Suzy Staub’s capabilities…Risengrød is a rice porridge made with a type of risotto rice and cooked for a long awaited hour with milk until you create the most perfect oatmeal-esque consistency. It is served with a generous dab of butter and sprinkled heavily with cinnamon sugar. Although this might sound like a type of dessert, it is believed to be the preferred dinner for the ‘Nisse’ (elves) who are busy at work in Santa’s workshop, if not up to their own mischief in your attic! Now while your rice cooks, take the time to create a simple setting at which you will sit, sip, and savor your delicious winter dinner…A *hygge setting will never go unnoticed, I assure you.

And now for the serving… Do be generous, as you can never have too much butter, cinnamon, or sugar on anything.

Et voila! You have yourself a dinner worthy of Santa’s little helpers, long awaited & well deserved…Bon Appetite!

Each Christmas I spend here in Copenhagen invites new recipes, traditions, and cultural delights of the holidays that I look forward to carrying on with my family for endearing Decembers to come…

Here’s to timeless cookware, simple settings, and meals that warm the heart & home. ~p.e.

Hygge: A unique Danish word that translated, means something like ‘Cozy’. However ‘cozy’ doesn’t quite cover the essence of a hygge setting. Think dark winter nights, enlighted by glowing candles, burning fires, good company and subtle music that reflects the love and warmth of the room in which it plays…