“The new year is a time to boldly take the first steps toward your best future.” -Oprah

Lo and behold! Another year has begun and it is time to brush off the resolutions of 2010 and perhaps add a couple of new ones to start off on a bright note…

Time to embrace the rebirthRise to the Occasion. Step out of our Comfort Zones. Break Bread, and Smile. How did you ring in your New Year?

I was lucky enough to spend the evening with my dearest friends, eating Sushi followed by Fondue and reflecting on a year well spent. Trails of traveling that took me to Florida, New York, Washington D.C., Paris, Copenhagen, & Budapest…Memorable meals in each place that inspired my palate and broadened my hungry horizons. Inspiring performances by New York City Ballet, American Ballet Theater, Paris Opera Ballet and my own Royal Danish Ballet that stretched me to further evolve my own artistic approach & dedication to dancing. The purchase of a Camera that doesn’t know how to take a bad shot, and the start of this blog that has allowed me to develop my voice as a writer, my curiosities in the kitchen, and the daily delights that continue to provide me with humility and luminous pleasure. Thank you for joining me thus far, and for the prospect of a ‘fantastisk‘ New Year together…Santé!

Well I woke up this morning and decided to kick off my resolutions with delicately whipped egg whites and blanched almonds… Does that ring a New Year’s Bell? If not, I speak of the meringue-like cookies that float like clouds of confection to the highest heavens… The ones often found in colors of pastel, that are sandwiched together with thin layers of jam, ganache, or what-have-you and always sound tempting. Anything? I’ll help you out…The delicacy which I speak of is none other than the Macaroon.

A humble marriage of egg whites whipped to oblivion and super fine sugar…Thrice sifted confectioner’s sugar and ground almonds…A hint of love and the gentle fold of a weathered rubber spatula.

The Macaroon is a feat for even the experts, so I boldly put its mastery on my list of New Years Resolutions. As a first attempt, I can’t say they were all that bad…

Light as a feather, crispy to the finest degree and the most perfect accompaniment to your favorite cup of tea.

Et finalement, the sandwich-ing of said cloud-like confections… I used an organic strawberry marmelade, but the possibilities are simply endless…

Here in Copenhagen such small ‘meringue cookies’ are called “Kys“, pronounced like ‘Kiss‘ and every bit as satisfying. Above, I tried an American Hand at a French Classic derived from Italian expertise.

Ahh the beauty of mixed cultures and married flavors.

Here’s to a Sparkling New Year filled with ‘Times to beat’ and ‘Tastes to savor’…

p.e.