Sigh. Alas we dancers at the Royal Danish Ballet are on a break from all things toile, tight, silky & satin… After 5 months of tireless devotion, we are released from all flexible ties and evening exhaustion for three weeks! So bare with me devoted dance readers, but I believe the coming posts will focus more on the Tea and less on the TuTu if you know what I mean…

I thought to make the transition smoother, I would just give a little mention to the glories of life in a Royal theater that despite sunny holidays in exotic places, will always keep me running back for more…

Here’s to early morning snowfalls while putting on stage make-up. Listening to the harp decorate an empty audience during intermissions. Sewing pointe shoes in the wings, surrounded by Fairies, Swans, Nymphs or what have you…Falling asleep weary and sore, but waking up feeling blessed to do it all over again. International styles, flavors and foreign languages brilliantly assembled to speak the same dialects of dance. And last but never least, the friends, family, roommates and treats that warmly welcome you back home…

I leave you with a slice of Walnut Cake & the first bite of Winter Break…

Love & Laughter, p.e.