Balance. Something I feel is so important not only in the life of a dancer, but in all who seek true happiness and health. There are some days when I might feel overwhelmed with one area of my life or another, and it is during these times that I try to step back to find soothing places of symmetry. This might be cooking or baking after a long day at the theater…Losing myself in a well written novel when I might otherwise engage myself in the latest TV series or favorite re-run…Eating outside or having an extra long skype-convo with family or friends…

This past week, I have done my best to relish the privileges of balance. After a long Saturday at the theater, I spent Sunday enjoying the longest brunch with friends, a walk along Amalienborg Palace (The Royal Family’s residence) & an amble through different exhibits of Design Week here in Copenhagen~before bracing myself for a busy upcoming week.

A few rather ripe bananas greeted me on my return home, asking to be revived by my favorite Banana Bread Recipe (a version of Martha’s that I amped up with flaxseed, wheatgerm, and naturally, chocolate chips…) A little extra batter allowed me to create a few cupcake versions to bring in for friends..

A week or so ago Copenhagen celebrated the opening of Torvehallerne~the most exciting city addition since wider bike lanes, in my personal opinion…This food market is the ultimate collaboration of local growers, specialty butchers, fish mongers, ethnic varieties, and licorice specialities among others… all under the same glassed-in roof for culinary enthusiasts to shop and savor… I indulged myself in some fresh, buttery scallops and a couple filets of tilapia in hopes of re-creating a seafood pasta dish I experienced last summer in Cinque Terre, Italy. Not too shabby an effort if I don’t say so myself…

And alas it was time to get back to work…Where I am currently molding my character as “The Pupil” in Flemming Flindt’s ballet, The Lesson. A thrilling story adapted from the work of world-renowned, french playwright, Eugene Ionesco. The Lesson tells the story of an eager student, excited to show what she has already learned and prepared for her first ballet lesson. Her teacher on the other hand has different plans than what your standard syllabus might include…both enraged and ignited by her passionate abandon, he loses all control… You can see how the story ends when we repremiere our first program of the season at the Royal Theater, clicking here for tickets, trailers and a photo gallery…

 So here’s to finding a balance inside and outside of the Royal Theater…In Life and in Love…In Passion and in Pursuit.

Sharing food, faith, fear and flavors.

What helps you to stay balanced?

~p.e.