There is something so nostalgic about the Nutcracker Season for dancers and non-dancers alike.. The gentle melodies of the Party Scene prologue might evoke someone’s first experience ‘at the ballet’, or on this scene, first experience on stage…running about with a doll or a drum. For me, Nutcracker certainly kindles some special moments of my life as a child, student & now professional dancer both on and off the stage. Tchaikovsky’s timeless score has the magical ability to transport me into an idealic Party Scene or dreamy Land of Sweets at the drop of Drosselmeire’s hat — something I will cherish my whole life long…

This particular season I am enjoying the role of the lead Marzipan Shepherdess who dances for Clara (or Marie) and her Prince in the second Act. Originally known as the “Dance of the Reed Flutes”, the music to Marzipan is one of the 8 original pieces of “The Nutcracker Suite”, written by Tchaikovsky in 1892. As I said, timeless. The high-pitched trill of the orchestral flutes float up to the stage and seemingly fuel our steps, which are as colorful, bright & perky as our costumes. I first danced this when I was 16 years old for the Stamford Ballet’s Nutcracker in Connecticut while I was training at the School of American Ballet. Four years later, I am no less excited and inspired to recreate this sugar-coated character with a little more experience.



Here’s to re-creating roles with baby pink prowess & embracing the magic of the Season…and a special ‘merci beaucoup‘ to the dear photographer who helped to capture these memories :)

12 more performances to go!

See details of the Royal Danish Ballet’s Nutcracker season & more Here!

Memories full of Marzipan~ p.e.