The year passed in a flourish of toile and perhaps one too many cookies….I figured since Birthdays only come but once a year, it was an appropriate time to post from a one-year-wiser perspective…

It was about this time last year that we at the Royal Danish Ballet were preparing for Neumeier’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, fantasizing about the warmth of summer and the magic of a good love story…

It was just before a snow-covered february, speckled with Monstrous Madeleines and articles for Pointe on Truffled Trolls

…Which shortly preceded my invitation to represent our company in the Erik Bruhn Prize Competition held in Toronto, Canada where a sweet colleague and I danced Bournonville’s Flower Festival.

Much did I anticipate a run of Folktale at the Opera upon returning to Copenhagen, and an impromptu Easter holiday spent in bella Roma

…Onto May with a hometown Season round up & packing for our month long tour to America where we brought such classics as Napoli & La Sylphide to California, Washington, D.C and New York City...

  

August Bournonville's Conservatoire, corps de ballet

….Savory Sundays melted into a hot summer at home where I enjoyed making/photographing/eating such glorious culinary confections as farmer’s market fresh Caprese, blueberry ganache tartelettes and homemade Ice Cream & Crumble among others…

….This was all long before I hiked the 5 cities of Cinque Terre and hostel-hopped through Italy with my sister & best friends, celebrating my one year Blogiversary and even challenging myself to teaching ballet classes for the Jose Correno Festival as summer came to the sweetest close…

Cinque Terre

September taught me a few Lessons, including how to cater a baby shower while October flashed glimpses of Broadway

Well into November did I dive into my own website, Galas & gourds… and preparations for a monthly dose of December’s Nutcracker

…A year in the making…long while it lasts, short when it’s over…and now for 2012.

365 days more experienced, challenged, older & hopefully wiser as I approach the next… Twenty One and touring to Paris in the morning, a tummy full of good red wine, Italian Pizza & the finest of Affogato’s to reflect and relax into the sweetest slumber, one more year under my belt.

birthday magic & memories ~ p.e.