This past weekend we bid farewell-for-now to my dear Aunt Donna. Beloved daughter, wife, sister, friend and mother of three, who was hit and killed by a drunk driver while jogging with her dog, Barney. Donna was a one of a kind source of love, strength, generosity, laughter and light to every one who had the fortune to know her. My mother’s very best friend, my cousins’ very cherished mother, my uncle’s very devoted wife.

The support, thoughts and prayers offered by our friends, family and community has been simply overwhelming. Through the strength that provides, we will strive to reflect Donna’s beauty every day here on earth, continuing her legacy of selflessness and love to the very end of time.

…and because my own words could never cover the magnitude of this loss, I leave with you a story that somehow says it all ~

     I am standing upon the seashore. A ship at my side spreads her white sails to the morning breeze and starts for the blue ocean. She is an object of beauty and strength. I stand and watch her until at length she hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come to mingle with each other.

Then someone at my side says: “There, she is gone!”

“Gone where?”

Gone from my sight. That is all. She is just as large in mast and hull and spar as she was when she left my side and she is just as able to bear her load of living freight to her destined port.

Her diminished size is in me, not in her. And just at the moment when someone at my side says: “There, she is gone!” there are other eyes watching her coming, and other voices ready to take up the glad shout: ‘Here she comes!”

And that is dying……

     ~Henry Van Dyke

Until we meet again my dearest DonDon, I will live every day in the light of your reflection.

Your Loving niece,

Shelby

A page has been started in Donna’s name on Facebook, “Tea Leaves for Donna Chen”. Here you will find various news reports, pictures, thoughts, etc…and if you so wish, donate to the Mothers Against Drunk Driving Tribute Tree we have set up in her name.