As athletes, dancers are always looking for the latest and greatest in healthy alternatives…Other than rest, ice, compression & elevation (the RICE method of preventing and/or treating injuries or inflammation), I prefer to answer my body’s aches & pains with nutrients. Potassium in bananas or melons helps with cramping muscles…antioxidants in berries and spices…Omega 3 oils in salmon and flaxseed…but among all of these, perhaps my favorite ingredient to incorporate in my cooking, baking, eating routine is the powerful natural painkiller and anti inflammatory known as Ginger. Ginger tea…grated Ginger in stir fries, apple sauce…even my latest obsession of crystalized Ginger merits bits of my daily happiness…

So you can only imagine my excitement when I stumbled upon this recipe for Banana Bread with Crystalized Ginger and a Cardamom Crunch Topping. What more could you ask for than a loaf of healthful happiness, sparkled with potassium, inflammation fighting ingredients, embraced by a crunchy layer of antioxidant filled spices? Much to my satisfaction, it came about better than I imagined and is now a staple amongst my power-ingredient-ginger recipe collection.

I might add that due to a shortage of ripe bananas, I took it upon myself to throw in one very ripe avocado for color and an extra Omega kick…I might recommend you do the same :)

To wrap it up, I thought I’d leave you with a little screenshot— taken this evening whilst updating my portals of passion…

Here’s to Baking with Benefits & a shot Behind the scenes…

~p.e.