With only two performances left of the lavish Lady of the Camelliasthe moods, melodies & melodramatic scenes at the ballet have taken quite a turn ~

…think ‘leotard ballets’ and the refreshing (albeit slightly stressful) counts of Stravinsky’s score, as we prepare ourselves for friday’s premiere of the Balanchine & Stravinsky program ~ a fantastic trio of George Balanchine’s Apollo, Agon and Symphony in 3 Movements.

I think we are all enjoying the contrast of these two programs which exemplify, almost comically, the antithesis of each other by every means (costumes, sets, music, time periods…) I find and love that the complexity and extravagance of one leaves you humbly content with the simplicity of the other ~ a huge plus of dancing in a Company with diverse repertoire…

…and speaking of diversity….my dear roomie just returned from a trip to India where I humbly begged her to find me a Spice I have long coveted… can you guess? If it  starts with Saf and ends with Fron, you guessed rightI recently stumbled upon this recipe (from Tartelette) on Pinterest for Saffron Cardamom Ice Cream.

….are you drooling???…well given my nightly indulgence of such creamy goodness & my recent acquisition of Saffron, I thought it was merely a test of fate. In no time the magical flavor combination was churning away…it was all I could do to photograph if before sitting down to a bowl… or two ;)

…oh the sweetness of exotic Spices & Stravinsky…

are you smiling?

saffron simplicity~p.e.

p.s. the precious ice cream bowls pictured above are from the most adorable atelier in Paris…a little treat I bought during our tour there in January…