On a long lunch break this week I took it upon myself to do some royal exploring… Royal in the sense that only a historic, 138 year-old European theater can supply you…back passages, character shoe-filled closets, secret windows and doors…

I happened upon the textile & dying department which up until this point, I only considered to be a drop off door—behind which our shoes and various fabrics might be dyed or otherwise manipulated…little did I know this room goes on for ages! Stations and shelves, dress forms and dyes, all color coded and fanciful in anticipation of creating something new…Amongst the plethora of paintbrushes, I found myself bewitched, baffled & bewildered by two-toned tassels & splendid swatches of fabric.

Just past this secret garden of stains & tints I stumbled upon one of my new favorite theater gems…The Character Shoe Closet. A lovely woman from the Costume department proudly let me in on the completion of her recent undertaking…Shelves and shelves of colored character shoes of all shapes and sizes, lined up heal to toe & toe to heal to the likes of 5th position. Apparently these satin covered beauties found their former home amongst boxes in the theater’s basement, but are now displayed with a new ‘shelf-life’ ~ pun intended ~ waiting to be worn, tapped & treasured…

Recognize that Butterfly??

…and among my most exciting discoveries of the day,  the dozens of nails that made up the original tap shoe!

Here’s to new discoveries, dyes & delights~p.e.