This past weekend, the Curtain rose on Royal Danish Ballet’s 2012-2013 Season with the world premiere of Alexei Ratmansky’s The Golden Cockerel. An eager audience waltzed into the Opera house, and given that my personal premiere isn’t until October 2nd, I was lucky to be among them.

It’s always hard for a dancer to watch rather than dance. I suppose it’s the same for any other artist or athlete…the ‘inconvenience’ of knowing every detail about what you’re watching…I’ve found that twinging muscles and forgetting to breath have minor effects on the whole idea of ‘enjoying’ with those you sit amongst. Nonetheless we find our selves seeing far deeper into the performance for that very reason. We know what’s behind it. The hours and hours of rehearsals, costume fittings, run throughs, evening calls, last minute changes…It’s no wonder why I sometimes feel just as exhausted in my red velvet seat, as I would had I been up on stage…funny how life spins things.

Needless to say it was a Saturday night to remember. Timeless speeches and celebration of a breathtaking new creation, choreographed in no more than 5 weeks (!!!!!) It was such an honor working with this truly gifted, patient and professional choreographer, I only hope it’s the first of many future collaborations…Time to take flight!

…Oh, and in the mean time, I tried out this pretty ridiculously delicious roasted Nut recipe I came across in the new Sprouted Kitchen Cookbook..I added a couple more seeds and can certainly say that the bag of cashews I bought at the market last weekend just paid for itself…Stay tuned for more!

photo credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

photo credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

photo credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Here’s to new heights!

Birds & Words. ~p.e.