As I sit here writing, I’m relishing the warmth of a cozy day in on a rare Tuesday off…There’s nothing more satisfying than waking up the morning after a performance to a gentle rain shower and the luxurious opportunity to go right back to sleep. Oui?

Alas, fall has certainly arrived in Copenhagen…crisp mornings followed by stormy afternoons, brilliant blue skies fighting off gusts of resilient breezes and butternut squash beckoning from the markets. I love this season. I love the slow evolution of berries into stone fruits, the surplus of squash and the chorus of chanterelle mushrooms singing sweetly from their crate. I love an excuse to eat comfort food, stay warm & cozy and frequent candle-lit café’s when my day is done at the theater.

Here is a little montage of moments I’ll be savoring this October…perhaps I’ll throw some Baked Apples or Pumpkin Scones into the monthly menu as a celebratory effort ;)

Remember these spiced nuts? Try garnishing your favorite fall soup with a generous sprinkle ;)

1 more show to go! Time flies when you’re wearing golden feathers…

 

 

photo credit: Jens Otto Nielsen
Pictured here as the ‘Golden Cockerel,’ with Alban Lendorf and Alexander Bozinoff in Alexei Ratmansky’s The Golden Cockerel

Cheers to Fall’s annual invitation to embrace heart warming flavors & foliage!

Autumn Love & (candle) Light~ p.e.