“If you’re green, you’re growing. If you’re ripe, you rot.” – Dad.

Where do you look to for words of wisdom? Inspiration to keep you from falling into habitual routines? My father has always offered me a wealth of perspective…a gift for which I have the greatest appreciation, given the ease of overlooking all there is to appreciate in life. Speaking of perspective, a friend of mine took me to a photography exhibit at the beautiful Black Diamond Library here in Copenhagen a couple of weeks ago. We stood awestruck among the work of Edward Steichen, one of the most famous American photographers, painters & art gallery collector/curators of his time.

 I was blown away by the range of his techniques…starting with blurred, sepia toned images (the kind of photo you might find in a vintage locket) in the early 1900’s… expanding to include crisp, high fashion spreads for Condé Nast (Vogue, Vanity Fair.) I wondered how he might find the pace of technology in the present? Perhaps there should be a ‘Steichenized’ filter on instagram :)

 His subjects ranged from famed artists including Pablo Picasso and Auguste Rodin to actress Marlene Dietrich and beyond…Naturally when I stumbled upon the likes of Martha Graham, Therese Duncan (Isadora’s daughter) & Mary Eaton, I found that Steichen and I had more passions in common than I thought. What a thrilling experience to see my interests of dance and photography married together by such a household name. Needless to say, I left feeling utterly inspired by the span of Steichen’s techniques…appreciating how quickly he grew to involve progressive technology in his work, constantly moving forward…ever green.

Below are a couple of Steichen’s photos, the first of Mary Eaton, followed by one of Therese Duncan taken on the grounds of the Acropolis in Athens, Greece. I have sprinkled in a few photos of me from past productions (Symphony in C during my first season here, and the late Narcissum taken last Spring) that have been ‘steichenized’ by the skilled friend and photographer who took them.

photo: google images

photo: google images

photo: google images

photo: google images

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Photo Credit: Jens Otto Nielsen

Here’s to seeing beyond the lens…shifting perspectives…staying inspired…

Green & Growing ~ p.e.