In the past 196 posts here on Tutus&Tea, I have savored the opportunity to grow along side each of you…sharing in this incredible chapter of my career that has brought me nearly 5,000 miles across the great Atlantic to pursue my dreams of dancing through life..I moved to Copenhagen exactly 4 years ago to join the Royal Danish Ballet, and needless to say, my ‘college experience’ here has only encouraged the eternal student in me – forever thirsty to keep exploring the world…meeting new people, discovering new cultures, sights, stages, styles of dance….new flavors, favorites, frames of reality. It seems like yesterday that I embraced the cobblestoned streets of Copenhagen for the first time, bewildered by the beauty of Scandinavian simplicity and beginning work in a theater older than the country I call home…As I sit here reminiscing, scrolling through pictures of European Brunches & Ballets, I’m simply overwhelmed by the true splendor of it all…which leaves me pondering the concept of time. How quickly it comes and goes….what we make of it….how we let it intimidate us and inspire us all at once.. It seems like the one thing besides the weather that we seek control over, yet it remains forever out of reach.

Today I’m here to tell you that my current Copenhagen Chapter is fast coming to an end, as this coming March will mark the beginning of my career with the Boston Ballet. While a variety of factors contributed to this change, I’m happy and so thankful to share that it was breed solely by positive ingredients for personal pursuit and growth. My experience here in darling Denmark remains untainted..leaving me with only the highest respect for this charming city and the people in it…who I feel so blessed to have called my colleagues, and whom I’ll forever call my cherished friends and family.

A couple of weeks ago I found myself walking along the streets of Paris, alone with my camera and my thoughts. I crossed the Pont des Arts bridge over the Seine and the word ‘enriched‘ kept surfacing in my mind as I took in 360 degrees of breathtaking European charm. I became teary eyed and nostalgic to think that this is what I’ll soon be leaving, but was quickly comforted by the notion that once you’ve been exposed to something so life changing – your life is just that – forever changed. I know that I will soon find myself back in Europe for whatever reasons life may avail..I will think back on the times I was lucky enough to call Copenhagen home and naturally, will do my best to carry the ideals of joie de vivre and moins c’est plus back over the ocean with my pointe shoes & flea market finds…

I would like to take this moment to thank all of the incredible people who’ve made my time here as precious as it ever could have been….and to invite you to join me on this next adventure ~ to see what kind of Tea Party Boston will have in store for this petite épicurienne & her little chefwho’s on board?


'shaded'  captured post La BayadérePont des ArtsLocks of Love -Pont des Arts

 

“To embark on the journey towards your goals and dreams requires bravery. To remain on that path requires courage. The bridge that merges the two is commitment.” -Steve Maraboli

memory wound & boston bound…p.e.