Photo by Karolina Kuras, Dress by Louiza Babouryan

Photo by Karolina Kuras, Dress by Louiza Babouryan

“…I would like to beg you dear Sir, as well as I can, to have patience with everything unresolved in your heart and to try to love the questions themselves as if they were locked rooms or books written in a very foreign language. Don’t search for the answers, which could not be given to you now, because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions now. Perhaps then, someday far in the future, you will gradually, without even noticing it, live your way into the answer.”

Rainer Maria Rilke, 1903 in Letters to a Young Poet

 

This evening I took the most inspiring Yoga class focused on a series of heart opening postures. From the first invigorating inhale to the final, relieving exhale, we concentrated on the power & peace, the strength & serenity that come from tuning in to our most vital organ. Our instructor finished with the above quote from Rainer Rilke, which well after my rainy subway ride home, I just can’t seem to shake.

Despite the century+ gap since it’s authorship, the relevance of such a request sings ever strong. In fact, I can’t imagine a better solution for all of the unanswered questions/vulnerable emotions stirred by recent events than realizing the freedom provided by trying to love our questions…to live everything.

This past weekend I walked up 5th Avenue along side a sea of passionate humans singing, dancing, and chanting in empathetic harmony to the tides of the Women’s March…the likes of which I’ve never quite experienced in my entire life. We were in Rilke’s words, living the questions. It was empowering, humbling, inspiring on so many levels…

In the search for answers that is our melodious life journey…may we remind each other to stay open hearted. If it’s but the smallest effort we make, I can’t imagine our answers to be any less entertaining than the brilliant signs which sprinkled this concrete jungle vibrant shades of PINK on Saturday.

If you #namastayed with me this far, I applaud you with hands big & tiny ;)

open heARTs.

s.e.