Throughout my career as a professional ballet dancer, I don’t think I’ve ever met an artist who doesn’t appreciate a good challenge. I would even dare suggest that we invite challenges into our lives on a daily basis, pushing our bodies and minds beyond normal limits of creative confines and comfort…perpetually seeking that endless climb towards perfection — or better yet, learning to accept our unique imperfections.Shelby by Kenneth

Today’s post was inspired by yet another trending Facebook Challenge targeted towards Artists far and wide – (Three cheers for another encouraging use of Social Media!) This creative class of individuals are challenged to share pictures of their artistic career for 5 days, each day nominating two other artists to do the same. I think this is a most brilliant idea for several reasons. A friend of mine recently told me that she had heard of her musician friends participating in this quite a while ago, and was happy to see it had made its way to performing artists in the dance world…Shelby by Kenneth

Despite my inevitable bias as a dancer, I do feel like the artistic community has formed a beautiful camaraderie of late – dance is permeating the world of athletic advertisement, dominating photographer’s Instagram feeds and waltzing down runways – not to mention its recent balletic influence on broadway! Shelby by Kenneth

I feel like this challenge is such a beautiful reason for artists to reflect on career highlights that have contributed to their own perspectives, while shedding light on the influential friends/colleagues/artists that have likewise shared their talents to make this world a brighter place. Shelby by Kenneth

Recently nominated myself, I look forward to sharing bits and bobs of my own memorable stage moments this week, and to spreading the honor of artistic reflection throughout Facebook & beyond :)

Fittingly, I’d like to thank the lovely artist/photographer Kenneth Edwards who’s work is featured here above…Pop over to my website for more moments from this Studio 4 Shoot

“Art is not what you see, but what you make other’s see.”

~Edgar Degas